Everyday Wyoming, Journal Wyoming, Photography

First Test Run / The Caulkmobile

On the road 10 minutes from home

On the road 10 minutes from home

The dogs adapting to the capacious and cozy bed.

The dogs adapting to the capacious and cozy bed.

I love my new/old camper, built in the 1970’s. The brand name is “Thunderbird” – one of those ridiculously inappropriate names that Americans insist on applying to trailers shaped like loaves of bread. I bought it at a yard sale this summer; it was just the type of cheap wreck I was looking for on my budget. The outside is so bad that I decided to leave it as is and instead work to make the inside comfy.

Last night it was ready to tow outside of town for its first test. I need to get the dogs heads rearranged to a new environment, a new ‘protocol’ for entering and exiting, eating, and not bugging me to go outside every minute and escape into the desert. A dangerous prospect; they could easily get lost, die from dehydration, coyote attack or simple exhaustion. The black and white dog will run until she is paralyzed by excruciating muscle spams.

The night went very well despite temps overnight in the 30s. A down sleeping bag was actually too hot, so I curled up under a comforter and slept TWELVE HOURS. It was magnificent, and I didn’t want to come home this morning, but I hadn’t eaten since lunch yesterday (forgot to take food) and no hot coffee. I have a long list of items I forgot, but that’s why I went overnight.

________________________________________________________________________

Man Caulk

Man Caulk

The entire trailer is covered in miles of goopy caulk applied by the previous owner: A MAN. It pisses me off when men claim that “they” know how to do everything better than women. I think this guy confused a caulking gun with his penis! He also used 2″ x 4″ lumber to support shelves inside cabinets. What an idiot. He  also screwed up the wiring for the tail lights: how do you do that when there are only 4 wires?

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “First Test Run / The Caulkmobile

  1. Thunderbirds? I have no idea. Green sounds good! I’m working up to a month or two escape from winter. I’ve been saying that for years, but I’m really sick of our winters – they last so long.

    Like

  2. Sounds like fun. We are going on a camper van trip soon. Can’t wait. I have started writing my list of things to take already. :)
    Did you watch Thunderbirds when you were growing up? You could paint the entire caravan green and paint the number 1, 2 or 3 on the roof.

    Like

Comments are closed.